THE annual Basingstoke and District Badminton League Restricted Tournament proved once again a great success.

Three titles – ladies, men’s and mixed were up for grabs at Costello School.

Four pairs contested the ladies section after one withdrew through injury, each pair playing the others to 30 points in the group stage.

Highest ranked pair, Gina and Linda Rapacioli, finished top with a maximum 90 points.

Just two points behind were Gill Trimmer/Sarah Fenton, followed by Debbie Hardcastle/Helen Wilcox with 86 points and Vanessa Hall/Cathryn Perkins with 62.

In the final between the top two pairs, Gina Rapacioli/Linda Rapacioli just beat Trimmer/Fenton 30-29.

There were ten pairs in the men’s competition, divided into two sections again with games played to 30 points.

In section A, top seeds Andy King/Lee Frith dropped nine points to Vince Yong/Khem Limbu, who won all their games to finish on the maximum 120 points.

Adam Bridgen/Andrew Mountford were third in the group with 103 points, then came Sam Kersley/Michael Nash (101) and Ramsay Domloge/Jon Brooks (98).

In Section B, Simon Williamson/Tim Cooper dropped just one point to finish on 119 points. The rest of the group were: Nick Reid/Martin Davey (117), Keith Miles/Robert Jackson (111), Stephen Lambe/Andy Elliot (94) and Chris Bradbury/Josh Bliss (82).

In the final, Williamson/Cooper and Yong/Limbu, all members of Viking Badminton club, were well matched making it a close final until Yong/Khem won the final two points to take the trophy 30-28.

The mixed competition comprised two sections of seven pairs with games played up to 21 points.

In Group A, Lalita Limbu/Khem Limbu lost just two points to finish first with 124 points with Gina Rapacioli/Carlo Rapacioli (122) second.

The rest of the group was: Alyssa Medella/Ramsay Domloge (121), Mary Kwok/Michael Nash (116) and Cathryn Perkins/Keith Palmer (114), Jan MacDonald/Adam Bridgen (102) and Anu Davies/Andy King (94).

In Group B top seeds Hayley Burger/Lee Frith lost only one point finishing with 125, while lowest seeded Sophie Poulton/Tom Penn played really well to finish second on 124 points.

Remaining pairs were Vanessa Hall/Jon Brooks (117), Christine Yao/martin Davey (115), Gill Trimmer/Andrew Mountford (111), Ruth Cairns/Keith Miles (109), and Alison Rendall/Matt Hawkins (90).

In the first semi final, Lalita Limbu/Khem Limbu started eight points behind but caught up at 18-18, but Sophie Poulton/Tom Penn gained the last three points to win 21-18.

It was the same score in the second semi-final, Hayley Burger/ Lee Frith gaining the winning margin against Gina Rapacioli /Carlo Rapacioli.

The final was a fascinating game as the skill and experience of top seeds Burger/Frith slowly overcame Poulton/ Penn to win the title 21-19.

Trophies were presented by league chairman Ruth Cairns and committee member Phil Cooper. They would like to thank Cathryn Perkins, Mark Bayliss and Diane Cooper for their help in organising and running the tournament.