EARLY pacesetters in the Basingstoke and District Men’s Summer League Division One are the Old Basing A team after two very hard fought 5-3 wins against Andover A and Beechdown A.

Jamie Thomas/James Chamberlain got a maximum in the Andover match.

Kingsclere A and Totally Tennis A have also started with convincing 8-0 wins. Kingsclere’s being against RSF A and Totally Tennis beating Hampshire Court A. Beechdown A beat Hampshire Court A 7-1.

It looks like being a close race for the Division Two championship with three teams currently on two wins apiece.

Aldermaston A recorded wins against Totally Tennis B 6-2 and Old Basing B 5-3.

Dave Bull teaming up with Pete Hillman against Old Basing and Colin Bennett in the Totally Tennis match to remain unbeaten.

Andover B have the two wins against Aldermaston A and Hook A with Bill Stuart/Joel Price being unbeaten against Aldermaston.

The third team with two wins are Old Basing B with successes against RSF B and Winchester A.

The team of Rex Groves/Tim Rice and Fabio Ronchi/Fritz Stephenson gave Totally Tennis B an 8-0 win against Hook A.

The Hook team did come back with a 6-2 win at Oakley A. Winchester A drew with RSF B.

Odiham A lead Division Three after a win and a draw. The win being 8-0 against Winchester B with a team of Lee Aubrey/Neil Watkins and Peter Jealous/Jeremy Hillage with the draw being at Preston Candover.

BDH beat Oakley B 5-3 with David Burrell and Andy Wallace winning all their sets and drew with Mortimer.

Waverley B beat BDH 5-3 with Preston Candover recording the same score in a win at Beechdown B.

Kingsclere B beat Preston Candover 5-3 and the Beechdown B team beat their C team 8-0.

Division Four sees Goodworth Clatford B off to a flying start with three wins from their first three matches.

They beat both Odiham B and Whitchurch 7-1 and Sherborne 6-2 with Richard Hancock/Michael Ringer winning all their sets in the Odiham match.

Aldermaston B have two wins, 5-3 against Hampshire Court B, with Iain Cameron/Nigel Bailey getting a maximum and 6-2 over Waverley C.

Neil Clark/Dermot O’Sullivan won all their sets for Hampshire Court B in their 6-2 win at Hook B. Hartley Wintney beat Hook B 5-3.

The Whitchurch team of James Billingham/Luis Morris and Hugh Crompton/Nicole Chirila beat Waverley C 8-0.