HAMPSHIRE Court A successfully defended their Basingstoke and District Tennis League Ladies Division One title.

They finished with a 6-2 win at Goodworth Clatford, as Julie Frankland and Penny Luke won all their sets.

Runners up were Beechdown A with Andover in third spot.

The Beechdown team drew with Andover and beat Aldermaston 5-3 with Clare Munns/Andrea Butcher being unbeaten in both matches.

They also beat their B team 8-0, as did Andover against Hampshire Court B.

Aldermaston beat RSF 5-3 and recorded the same score against Goodworth Clatford with Karen McKenzie/Gill Vaughan being unbeaten.

The RSF team beat Mortimer 8-0 and Beechdown B 7-1, while Goodworth Clatford A overcame Hampshire Court B 8-0.

Division Two saw a battle between the Odiham A and B teams for the title with the A team of Pam Verdon/Sue Cockroft and Helen Osgerby/Veronica Pulleyn coming out on top after winning two more sets over the season.

The A team won 7-1 against Totally Tennis, 8-0 at Whitchurch and Beechdown C.

Meanwhile the B team won 6-2 at Goodworth Clatford B and 8-0 against Winchester B with a team of Emma Barnes/Sharon De Botte and Hilary Oliver/Antonia MacPhee.

Totally Tennis beat Goodworth Clatford B 5-3 with Tracey Grout/Jill Gibson winning all their sets.

They also drew with Preston Candover who then beat Beechdown C 7-1 with Sarah Blockley /Charlotte Whittle getting a maximum.

The Winchester A beat Beechdown C 8-0 and the Winchester B team over came 6-2 at Whitchurch.