SILCHESTER tennis star Hannah Smith continued her excellent season as she helped West Hants Lawn Tennis Centre to the Aegon Team Tennis Premier title and also helped Great Britain to success in the Tennis Europe Nations Challenge qualifying group.

The Aegon event was held at the National Tennis Centre in Roehampton, London and included players in age groups from under-12 to under-18.

Each team at the finals were the winners of their respective Tier One region during the league stage of the competition which ran from April to June.

In total 24 teams competed in the finals with four teams involved in each event.

It was a dominant display from start to finish from Smith and her West Hants LTC team mates as they did not drop a single set all weekend.

This was despite valiant efforts from Bolton Arena in the semi-finals and then Gosling Tennis Centre in the final. Smith won the deciding singles match defeating Goslings number one player Isabelle Purser 6-0,6-1.

West Hants LTC claimed an astonishing four titles over the weekend.

Immediately after the national tournament Smith and team mate Leah Gonzales–Edwards flew out to the Netherlands to represent Great Britain in the Tennis Europe Nations Challenge qualifying group stage in Haren in Belgium.

In their group, Team GB took on and defeated teams from Belgium, Croatia and Estonia.

Smith won all six of her group matches to help the team top the table and take their place in the finals where they met host nation Netherlands, who had beaten teams from Denmark and Latvia to reach this stage.

With Smith losing the opening match the pressure was on team mate Gonzales-Edwards to level the tie.

At 5-1 down in the 3rd set, Gonzales-Edwards saved multiple match points and fought back to win 7-5 to take the match into a deciding final doubles match which the GB pairing won 6-3, 6-3.

This earned them a spot in the Tennis Europe Nations Challenge finals to be held in Corsica next month.

Here they will compete against the winners of other group stages including Czech Republic, Poland, Croatia, Romania and Russia.