OVERTON won the Finch Group Cyril Thompson Plate on Sunday morning as they beat Oakley by 37 runs.

Batting first Overton got off to good start thanks to openers Andrew Galvin (44) and Harry Deacon (12).

Once Deacon was removed number three Craig Clark (25) kept the runs going as Overton reached 51-1 after 10 overs on their way to total of 123-6 after 20. Dan Sumner. (3-20) was the top Oakley bowler.

The Oaks reply soon hit the rocks as Andrew Reagan (5-28) removed five of the top six in the batting order, the pick of dismissals being one which included a stunning catch off the ground one handed by wicket keeper Alex Millar.

From here there was no way back with Mark Tiley top scoring with an unbeaten 22 not out as they were all out for 86.

Overton captain Les Watts (3-13), Sam Cross (1-25) and Galvin (1-12) were the other wicket takers.

The final wicket seeing another excellent one handed catch this time by Galvin at shot cover.

After the game, Overton skipper Watts said: “It was great to win and it was solid team performance. it was not easy to score runs.”

Overton’s winning team; back row left to right: Sam Cross, Andrew Galvin, Lewis Watts, Alex Millar, Nick Tomlin, Henry Deacon. Front row left to right: Dave Thomson, Andrew Regan, Matt Sims, Craig Clark, Aaron Brown.