The 2022 FIFA World Cup is set to take place in November and December this year in Qatar, and the draw for the group stage is happening today (Friday, April 1).

At the moment 29 out of the 32 countries that will take part in the competition are set, with there still being three intercontinental playoff matches to take place before the final set of teams is listed.

The fate of Wales and Scotland is still hanging in the balance in one of those playoff matches, whilst England qualified top of their group at the first stage of qualifying.

Here's all the information on the draw including, where to watch it.

When is the World Cup 2022 draw taking place?

The draw for the tournament takes place on Friday, April 1, at the DECC venue in Doha, Qatar at circa 5pm BST.

How to watch the World Cup 2022 draw in the UK?

BBC One will air coverage of the draw, with the programme starting at 4.45pm, and this will also be available to livestream on BBC iPlayer.

What is the format of the draw?

The 32 teams will be drawn into eight groups of four teams, with Qatar assured a spot in Group A.

The other nations will be split into four pots based on FIFA rankings.

Each group will have no more than one nation from any confederation, aside from Europe which can have no more than two nations in any one group.

World Cup Draw Seedings

Pot A

  • Qatar
  • Brazil
  • Belgium
  • England
  • France
  • Argentina
  • Spain
  • Portugal

Pot B

  • Netherlands
  • Germany
  • Denmark
  • Switzerland
  • Croatia
  • Uruguay
  • Mexico
  • USA

Pot C

  • Iran
  • Japan
  • Morocco
  • Serbia
  • Poland
  • South Korea
  • Senegal
  • Tunisia

Pot D

  • Cameroon
  • Canada
  • Ecuador
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Ghana
  • Plus, the three winners of the intercontinental playoffs

The playoff matches that are yet to be contested are:

  • Wales vs Scotland or Ukraine
  • Australia or United Arab Emirates vs Peru
  • Costa Rica vs New Zealand