SECOND placed Viking A moved to within four points of leaders Waverley A in the Basingstoke and District Badminton League Open Division One but have played two games more after beating BH Pegasus B 6-3.

A hat-trick from Tim Cooper/Simon Williamson plus a double from Khem Bahadur-Limbu/ Michael Nash led the way for Viking A , whilst a double from David Truby/Vilas Nair top scored for BH Pegasus B.

Waverley A recorded their sixth successive win by beating their B side 8-1. Neil Atkins/Peter Bevell led the way with their sixth hat-trick and there was also a hat-trick from Wayne Drake/Phillip Jaap and a Ian Aherne/Craig Ford double. The B team's single came from Sam Kersley/Adam Hood.

A hat trick from Stephen Lambe/David Irvine underpinned a first win for bottom side Hurst A as they beat second placed Viking A 5-4. Doubles from Simon Williamson/Tim Cooper and Khem Bahadur-Limbu/Michael Nash earned Viking A four points.

Beechdown A stretched their lead at the top of Open Division Two to 10 points by beating Hurst B 8-1. Simon Hughes/Mark Bayliss notched a hat-trick, Peter Leeds/Lisa Moran a double plus a concession and there was a double from Tim Hassall/Mike De Sousa. Nigel Appleton/Paul Nightingale won a hard fought rubber for Hurst B.

Phoenix are now second in Open Division Three despite losing out to Alresford 5-4. Doubles from Bret Charman/Ben Webb and from Geoff Denyer/Mark Emmerson helped Alresford over the line, while Jon Brooks/Pranjal Mathur go a hat-trick for Phoenix.

Oasis beat Andover B 8-1 to take top spot .Tom Hicks/Peter Sellers won a hard fought single rubber for Andover .

There was a titanic struggle in the Ladies 4 League as second placed Beechdown A played out a 3-3 draw with Andover B who are now third.

Five of the six rubbers went to the third end as no quarter was asked or given.

Viking Ladies remain on course for yet another Ladies 4 League title with a 6-0 victory over bottom side Phoenix to maintain their 100 per cent record.

Beechdown A beat their B side 6-0. It was honours even as Andover A and B Ladies played out a 3-3 draw.

Reigning champions St Marys secured their third successive win by beating second to bottom Andover 9-0 in Mixed Division One. Michael Nash, Janine Fisher, Pete Braithwaite, Nicola Smith, Ross Parsons and Katie Woods all remained unbeaten as St Marys took maximum points.

Bottom side Beechdown A won their first game by beating Andover 6-3 in Mixed Division One. In a consistent performance, there were doubles from Dan Sheppard/Cathryn Perkins, Peter Leeds/ Sam Hollingdale and Simon Hughes/Sally Thompson. Chris Clarke/Pauline Prior scored a hat-trick for Andover in a losing cause.

Waverley A also beat Andover 6-3 to move into second place. Hat-tricks came from Peter Bevell/Gina Rapacioli and Craig Ford/Emma James, while each of the Andover pairs took a rubber.

BH Pegasus have still to drop a single rubber after they recorded their fourth win in Mixed Division Two, beating Viking B 9-0. Rob Clayburn, Preow Chanpeng, Ryan Doe, Theresa Simmonds, Martin Davey and Rebecca Butterfield were all unbeaten for the runaway leaders.