THE Basingstoke and District Tennis Summer League has now been completed and there were some close results and finishes in several of the divisions, writes RICHARD MOLE.

In the men’s league, Beechdown A and Riseley A both finished on the same number of points in Division One with Beechdown taking the title courtesy of winning more sets over the season.

Both teams losing just the one match each with one draw each. Andover A took third place and defending champions Totally Tennis A finishing in fourth.

In Division Two, Goodworth Clatford A had a 100 per cent record winning all eight of their matches to win the title.

Waverley A pipped Old Basing A to the runners up spot.

Totally Tennis B were in fourth place from Oakley A.

Division Three turned into a battle between the two Hampshire Court teams with the A team taking the top spot from the B team and dropping just the five sets in winning all nine of their matches.

Beechdown B lost just the two matches to the top two teams and finished in third place. Hook finished in a creditable fourth place just ahead of Kingsclere.

Division Four saw Mortimer remain undefeated to take the title from Penton Mewsey by a point. Andover C were in third place.

Beechdown A retained the Ladies Division One title in a close fought battle with Hampshire Court A dropping just the one point.

Odiham A finished in third place.

In Division Two Totally Tennis held off the challenge from Old Basing A to take the title and complete the season with six wins from six matches.

The team from Riseley were in third place. Beechdown B won Division Three losing just the one match with both Whitchurch and Winchester B taking second and third respectively and on the same number of points each.

In Mixed Division One both Hampshire Court A and Beechdown A finished with the same number of points after they had four wins and two losses apiece.

The Hampshire Court team took the title for the first time by winning one more set. Andover took third place from defending champions Overton with again both finishing on the same number of points.

Odiham A were unbeaten in Division Two with four wins and two draws to take the title. Riseley B and Totally Tennis finished in second and third places respectively.

Whitchurch A took the Division Three title from Aldermaston B after winning six of their 7 matches. Beechdown C took third place with Mortimer in fourth.

The winter season starts at the beginning of October.