WINKLEBURY were crowned Basingstoke School champions at the Key Stage 1 Quad Kids Athletics competition hosted by Winklebury Infant School, writes MICHELLE MATSON.

The event saw schools enter teams of four or five girls and boys and this year there were 13 teams taking part.

All children compete in all four events which are the 300m run, 50m sprint, standing long jump and throwing the vortex. In total 60 girls and 60 boys took part.

Winklebury were delighted to be able to enter two teams which meant 20 children got the chance to represent the school.

Their A team crowned champions was made up of Tajesh Bomma, Dominic Glabski, Keanu Lewis, Max James, Tommy Spice, Ella Monaghan, Martha Henwood, Asli Coktan, Lyra Saye and Darcie-Mae Tovey.

The B team did incredibly well to finish sixth and the team members were were Casper Legedz, Kyle Murray, Ethan Tippins, Dominic Nocella, Ryan Pickard, Ruby Wild, Isla Stewart - their only Year 1 pupil, Ryleigh-Mai Hooley, Tori Allwright and Casey-Leigh Waite.

Old Basing were second and St John’s third.

Ruby Wild finished third in the girl’s event with Ella Monaghan in seventh. Asli Coktan and Martha Henwood both finished just outside the top 10 in joint 13th place.

A further outstanding result was Isla Stewart, as the youngest member of the team, who finished in 22nd place. In the boys events Dominic Glabski and Tajesh Bomma both finished in joint 6th place with Keanu Lewis in 8th place. Just outside the top 10 in 12th was Casper Legedz and Kyle Murray in 13th.

Tajesh Bomma won the boys long jump and Ruby Wild won the girls event too.

It was amazing to see how much faster all the children managed to run on a very hot day with the excitement and nerves of their first competition.

Michelle Matson a HLTA at Winklebury who teaches them PE said: “I’m delighted with all of the children and the results really show the depth of talent at Winklebury. The children loved wearing their Team Winklebury T-shirts and having the chance to represent our school. I’m so proud of all the children and all the effort they put into their events and of course am delighted to see the A team win the trophy."