THE Basingstoke Bison rounded off their superb first season led by player/coach Ashley Tait with their awards night last Thursday at the Apollo Hotel.

A great evening was had by all and in total eight awards were handed out, with not one person collecting more than one.

Popular netminder Alex Mettam picked up the coveted Player’s Player voted for by all his team mates.

The club’s top British points scorer Russ Cowley won the Supporters Player of the Year.

The team’s leading British goalscorer Alex Sampford won the Young Player of Year.

George Norcliffe another of great crop of the British forwards on the team picked up the Most Improved Player award.

Slovak Sniper and top points scorer on the team Michal Klejna was named Forward of the Year, while Adam Jones, who led the Herd’s blue line scoring was the club’s Defenceman of the Year.

The Coaches Player of Year went to another member of the blue line brigade Elliott Dewey.

The Alan Parrott Outstanding Contribution Award went to new equipment manager Gary Mitchell.