AFC Laarsens won the North Hants John Ward Cup last Sunday after a dramatic 3-2 penalty shoot-out victory over New Park Rangers.

Laarsens started nervously, struggling to play their usual game.

New Park Rangers started brighter of the two teams, playing the ball out from the goalkeeper, with Callum Greenly dictating most of the play throughout the game, while Laarsens were more direct.

However, AFC Laarsens took a 1-0 lead when George Lagden chested down a Myles Englefield header and scored with an overhead kick from close range.

Laarsens then started to get a grip on the game with Wilson, Aldoori and Costen coming into the game.

Rangers had their chances, notably Nathan Barlow failed a one-on-one with the keeper.

After half time Rangers' wingers Harrison and Blackwell made good runs and were winning corners.

Laarsens were pegged back under pressure and only some great defending by Mackinnon, Tucker, Wheeler and Laith Aldoori, along with a string of saves from O’Brien in goal, maintained their fragile lead.

On 55 minutes, Joe Hodge's chip for Rangers was saved, on 60 minutes Hodge hit the inside of post, then Harrison's effort came off the woodwork, before Barlow's smart finish squared the contest 1-1.

Hodge almost got the winner in the final minute as Laarsens managed to hold on thanks to O’Brien who was magnificent between the sticks.

In the penalty shoot-out, Bloma, Laith Aldoori and Wilson converted their penalties with Tucker missing while O’Brien made the match winning save to give Laarsens the cup.