Liam Dawson reached the semi-finals of the inaugural T10 League alongside former Hampshire teammate Shahid Afridi.

Dawson played for Pakhtoon, who were beaten by nine wickets in the last four, by the Punjabi Legends, in Sharjah.

Afridi blasted 41 from 17 balls, including five sixes, as Pakhtoon made 129-4 from their ten overs.

But Punjabi chased the target down in 9.1 overs.

Dawson took the catch that gave Umar Gul the early wicket of his Pakistan teammate Umar Akmal.

But former Bashley star Luke Ronchi (60no) and Shoaib Malik (48no) shared an unbroken century stand from just 40 balls.

Ronchi also struck a 34-ball 70 in the final to finish as the tournament’s leading scorer, with 197 at 49.25 and a strike rate of 185.84.

But the competition was won by Kerala Kings, for whom captain Eoin Morgan made 63 from just 21 balls as his side chased down 121 with two overs and eight wickets to spare.

Dawson hit a 23-ball 44 (four sixes, three fours) before being run out by Mohammad Amir as Pakhtoons won their opening game by 25 runs.

He took two wickets in an over, dismissing Team Sri Lanka openers Dinesh Chandimal and Dilshan Munaweera in the space of three balls as Pakhtoon won their second game.

Dawson finished the tournament with 3-12 from his two overs.

Dawson's Hampshire teammate Rilee Rossouw topped the tournament’s sixes tally, firing 12 maximums as the Maratha Arabians reached the semi-finals.

Only four players - Ronchi (197), Shoaib Malik (191), Paul Stirling (181) and Morgan (149) - scored more runs than the left hander’s 126.

They were scored at an average of 42 and a staggering strike rate of 237 runs per 100 balls - the best strike rate of all the players to have scored more than 31 runs. 

Rossouw hit two match-winnings innings, an unbeaten 49 from 18 balls and a 27-ball 67.

But he was dismissed for five by former Hampshire bowler Sohail Tanvir as eventual winners Kerala Kings won their semi-final by five wickets, reaching their 98-run target with five balls remaining in Sharjah.