BASINGSTOKE Town's squad is set for a summer overhaul after it was announced that eight players, including captain Wes Daly, will not be offered new deals at the Camrose.

Goalkeeper Louis Wells, defender Ross Adams, midfielders Daly and Neil Barrett and strikers Kezie Ibe, Robbie Matthews and Jordace Holder-Spooner will not return for the 2014-15 season. Left-back Adam Green had already left the club, rejoining Dartford.

Manager Jason Bristow said: “I would personally like to thank each and every one of them for their contribution to the club, some for one year others for a lot more.

"I wish them all the best of luck in the future and hope they have success at their next club.”

The clear-out follows a disappointing season for Town, who finished 14th in the Conference South.

The departure of Daly is probably the biggest surprise. Bristow had said last summer that he planned to mould his new passing style around the central midfielder, and made him captain.

However, the midfielder has already found a new club in the Conference South, signing for newly-boys Hemel Hempstead Town.

Bristow has already made one new signing, bringing in left-back Tom Bird, while Nathan Smart, Robbie Rice, Jay Gasson, David Ray, Andrew Jenkinson, Simon Dunn, Shaun McAuley and Liam Enver-Marum have all put pen to paper on new deals.

Negotiations are ongoing with goalkeeper Joe McDonnell, midfielder Louie Soares and strikers Manny Williams and Nicholas Bignall, while youngsters Marcus Johnson-Schuster, Kieran Maylen and Alex Charlick may also be retained.

However, even if all of them re-sign, Bristow is likely to bring in at least five new faces to freshen up the squad.