ALMOST 15 per cent of the constituency of Basingstoke is to change as part of a boundary review which will see the entire political map of Britain redrawn.

Britain’s parliamentary constituency boundaries have been unchanged for the last four general elections.

Boundary reviews should take place every eight years, but constituency boundaries have not changed since 2010 because of political opposition to previous proposed changes.

READ MORE: Prediction polls show Conservatives could lose Basingstoke 'safe seat' after 100 years

The four boundary commissions for England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland submitted final decisions on the new boundaries in July, which show a shake-up of the political map across the country, bringing almost all electorates into line with a UK constituency ‘quota’ of between 69,724 and 77,062 voters.

As a result, only 65 of the 650 Westminster seats will be unchanged at the next election. England will gain 10 seats.

The commission has calculated differences between current and proposed constituency boundaries by looking mainly at address locations and populations.

Almost 15 per cent of the current constituency of Basingstoke is set to change as a result of the review.

The review states that Basingstoke will be split between three successor constituencies, with the bulk of the population remaining in the Basingstoke seat.

The new constituency boundaries are provisional and are subject to confirmation by Ordnance Survey. The final boundaries may have small differences.

The review shows that 85.2 per cent of the current Basingstoke constituency will go to the new Basingstoke constituency. 

However, almost 15 per cent will change, with parts shared between two other constituencies.

SEE ALSO: Black Sheep Coffee still opening in Festival Place despite delay

A total of 7.7 per cent of the current Basingstoke constituency will move to North West Hampshire including parts of Rooksdown and Poley.

The change will mean that Basingstoke hospital, in Aldermaston Road, will no longer be part of the Basingstoke constituency.

Some of the newer parts of Popley such as Oxford Road and Don Allen Drive will also move to North West Hampshire, along with parts of Rooksdown including Park Prewitt Road.

Conservative Kit Malthouse is the current MP for North West Hampshire.

A total of 7.1 per cent of the current Basingstoke constituency will move to North East Hampshire to join Hook and Fleet, including Old Basing, Newnham and Mapledurwell.

The current MP for North East Hampshire is Conservative Ranil Jayawardena.

The Basingstoke boundary will shift to the west and will include North Waltham, Deane, Oakley, Steventon, Malshanger and Wootton St Lawrence, as well as new houses on the Longacre Rise development off Winchester Road and the new Hounsome Fields development.

The current MP for Basingstoke is Conservative Maria Miller.

To see a more detailed interactive map of the changes visit the House of Commons Library

What happens next? 

There is no formal parliamentary stage or vote on the final recommendations and parliament is unable to amend them.

The Government must now draw up a single draft Order in Council to implement the recommendations. Orders in Council are Orders that have been approved at a meeting of the Privy Council personally by the King.

The Government must submit the draft Order to the Privy Council for approval “as soon as reasonably practicable”. The legislation states this must be no later than four months after the final reports have been laid in parliament unless there are exceptional circumstances.

The draft Order must contain the final recommendations of the Boundary Commissions. The Government cannot make changes.