ALEX Mettam was a double winner at the Basingstoke Bison annual awards night, writes Graham Merry.

The netminder who announced his retirement before the Herd’s final weekend of the season, won the Players’ Player and Coach's Player of the Year awards.

Import Marcel Balaz came out on top as Forward of the Year, while the Defenceman of the Year trophy went to Jay King.

Another member of the blue line brigade Marcus Mitchell won the Most Improved Player award.

The Supporters' Player of the Year went to Gael Lubwele, while Edgars Landsbergs won the Young Player of the Year award.

The Alan Parrott Award for outstanding contribution to the club went to Hannah Driver.

In other news, two Bison players have already found a new team for next season, as the Herd will not be competing in the league.

They are forward Aidan Doughty, who sat out the end of the campaign after he broke his back and defenceman Brendan Baird, the pair have both joined the Bees.

On the ice last Saturday, the under-18 Bison wrapped up their home programme with a 5-0 loss to visiting Swindon.

The game was the final home game in the junior programme for Xander Robinson, Josh Hibbs, Darren Murphy, Dylin Floyd and James Bryan.

The Bison’s man of the match was Cameron Frain who was very impressive between the pipes with 42 saves in the game including stopping a penalty shot.

The Herd’s best chances fell to Xander Robinson, Roman Cathcart, Ellis Austin, Darren Murphy and Harry Tempest.