Basingstoke Gazette

Basingstoke elections 2021: Conservatives win comfortable majority - as it happened


Basingstoke local elections: Conservatives win majority

By Ryan Evans

Last updated:

    - Conservatives win comfortable majority on Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council.
  • - First Conservative councillors in Brookvale and Kings Furlong since 1983 after Tories pick up two seats.
  • - Labour councillor Kim Taylor loses her Brighton Hill seat as the Lib Dems pick up a councillor.
  • - Independent councillor Lucie Follett Maitland elected in Whitchurch, Overton and Laverstoke.
  • - Final results: CON 33, LAB 10, LDM 5, BDI 5, IND 1.
  • - 54 new councillors elected today as the number of seats is cut from 60.