THE government has announced the list of countries residents in Basingstoke can travel to from May 17.

Portugal, Gibraltar and Israel are the few short-haul destinations among the countries and territories people in England can visit without self-isolating on their return, the Department for Transport has said.

Speaking at a briefing from Downing Street this evening (Friday, May 7), transport secretary Grant Shapps outlined the government’s new ‘traffic light system’, as well as the 12 “green list” destinations, suitable for holidays.

He said the system is designed to “classify destinations by risk”, with red countries not suitable for travel to or from “except in extreme circumstances”, and an eleven day stay in an “isolation hotel” required on return.

From today, the red list includes Turkey, Maldives and Nepal.

Meanwhile, most countries fall into the amber category. Travel to these destinations is also advised against, with a ten day at-home isolation period required on return.

Mr Shapps added: “As a nation we are a group of people that thrives on travel.

“We want a Summer in which we can reunite families and friends and travel to places we love. We want to start looking outwards again.”

However, he highlighted that more new cases have been diagnosed around the world in the past seven days than at any time during the pandemic. 

Therefore, at this time, the number of locations included in the “green list” - to which travel will be permitted from May 17, provided a lateral flow Covid test is completed on return and again two days after return - is limited.

The transport secretary said: “The most popular holiday destinations, France and Spain and Greece are not yet included, but every three weeks after reopening we will be reviewing the countries and territories to see how and when we can expand the green list.

“Our strong advice is not to book any holiday that does not include a refund.”

Travellers have also been warned that airport waiting times are likely to be increased, as coronavirus checks remain in place.

More information about the traffic light system can be viewed at 

Here is the full list of “green list” countries and territories:

  • Portugal - including the Azores and Madeira
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Singapore
  • Brunei
  • Iceland
  • Faroe Islands
  • Gibraltar
  • Falkland Islands
  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
  • Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha