IT WAS an evening of glitz and glamour as businesses around north Hampshire were celebrated at the annual Inspire Business Awards.

Held at the Hampshire Court Hotel, more than 500 business people from across the region attended last nights event where the winners were announced.

The annual awards programme, which is organised by Destination Basingstoke on behalf of sponsoring partners, received a record breaking number of entries over the summer, which were then shortlisted and the finalists visited by the judging panel during September and October heightening the anticipation for the announcements made at the November ceremony.

Winners and finalists came from all parts of north Hampshire from Andover to Aldershot and everywhere in between.

This year's awards was the converted Businesses of The Year award be split into three categories.

There was an award for the business of the year in the large category (more than £5 million turnover), medium (turnover between £500,000 and £5 million) and small (turnover under £500,000).

Below is the full list of winners:

Business of the Year (Large - Over £5 million turnover) sponsored by Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council:


Business of the Year (Medium - Turnover £501k to £5 million)– sponsored by Priority Appointments:

Ayre Chamberlain Gaunt Architects

Business of the Year (Small Turnover under £500k)– sponsored by Perpetual Flowers:

The Topiary

New Business of the Year – sponsored by Hart District Council:

Chennai Express

Business and Community – sponsored by Basingstoke Gazette:

The Apollo Hotel

Employer of the Year – sponsored by HR Dept:


Apprentice of the Year - sponsored by University of Winchester:

Harry Morgan from VuePoint

Innovation Excellence – sponsored by Lilly UK:


Service Excellence – sponsored by Festival Place:

UK Cloud

Young Business Person of the Year – sponsored by Sovereign Housing:

George Robinson – Bradbury Robinson

Environmental Responsibility Award – sponsored by Vitacress:


Hospitality Business of the Year– sponsored by Minuteman Press:

The Purefoy Arms

Excellence Digital Technology Award – sponsored by Juniper Research:


See next Thursday's Gazette for full coverage