FOR the first time in nearly a century, we'll be heading to the polls for a December general election.

After four attempts to get an early election because of the Brexit deadlock, Prime Minister Boris Johnson finally got his way after Labour backed his proposals.

So that now puts polling day on December 12, with all 650 seats up for grabs again.

Ranil Jayawardena is currently the MP for North East Hampshire, and has confirmed he will be re-standing.

He gained the seat in 2015, and is currently the Vice Chairman of the Conservative Party.

In 2017, he won 65.5% of the vote.

Here are the candidates who have declared that they are standing for North East Hampshire in the 2019 general election:

Graham Cockarill - Liberal Democrats

Graham Cockarill has announced that he'll be standing for the Lib Dems in North East Hampshire. He is currently a Hart District Councillor, representing the ward of Yateley East. He is also cabinet member for Place.

Basingstoke Gazette: Graham CockarillGraham Cockarill

Ranil Jayawardena - Conservatives

Ranil Jayawardena, who has been MP for North East Hampshire since 2015, confirmed on Twitter that he'd be standing again.

TBA - Labour

Labour have told the Gazette that they will be announcing their candidate for North East Hampshire next week.