BORIS Johnson suffered a blow today when MPs voted not to give their approval to the prime minister's Brexit deal until he passes all necessary legislation. 

The result has effectively forced Mr Johnson to seek an extension to the Article 50 negotiating period tonight, possibly delaying Brexit beyond October 31.

MPs from Hampshire have reacted to the result. 

Ranil Jayawardena, Conservative MP for North East Hampshire, tweeted: "We had an opportunity to #GetBrexitDone today. Some folk simply don’t want to leave the EU. Thanks to those who are not but voted with @BorisJohnson as we seek to honour the result of the referendum. #Brexit #TakeBackControl #NoMoreDelays #MoveOn."

Meanwhile Basingstoke MP Maria Miller said however well intentioned the Letwin Amendment it would lead to more delay. 


Mrs Miller tweeted: "This amendment however well meaning would lead to yet more delay-not what our country needs - that’s why I voted against it - but Government plans to introduce the Withdrawal Bill next week so we do still have an opportunity to move on if MPs come together and support it."

The House of Commons voted 322 to 306 in favour of an amendment, proposed by former Conservative minister Sir Oliver Letwin, to a motion on the prime minister's Brexit deal.

The vote went against Mr Johnson, who has promised to deliver Brexit on 31 October "do or die", after the DUP gave their backing to Sir Oliver's amendment.

Mr Johnson has written to all MPs tonight urging them to get behind his deal, saying a delay to Brexit is not an option.