LAST night saw the celebrations of all things education as teachers, support staff and leaders were among the winners at the second Gazette Education Awards.

Hosted at the Apollo Hotel, the gathered crowd heard the stories of the winners of the 15 awards, followed by their emotional reaction.

Here is the list of the winners from the ceremony on July 4:

Teaching Assistant/Support Staff Award- Charlotte Adlam, from Cranbourne

Secondary School Teacher Award, sponsored by Hampshire County Council- Laura Saunders, from Cranbourne

Leadership (Primary) Award- Steph Walker, from North Waltham Primary School

Science and Technology Award, sponsored by Queen Mary's College- Victoria Mandizha, from Brighton Hill Community School

Voluntary Contribution Award, sponsored by Apollo Hotel- Paul Penney, from Brighton Hill Community School

Leadership (Secondary) Award- Chris Edwards, from Brighton Hill Community School

Business in Schools Award, sponsored by Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council- Kavita Banga, from Aldworth School

Special Education Needs Staff Award- Karin Graham, from Ashford Hill School

Community Involvement Award, sponsored by David Wilson Homes- Dave Watton

College Teacher Award, sponsored by Basingstoke ITEC- Sarah Pithers, from Queen Mary's College

Nursery/Primary School Award- Theresa James, from Castle Hill Primary School

Innovation Award, sponsored by Centerprise International- Michael Watkinson, from Aldworth School

Apprentice Award, sponsored by Basingstoke College of Technology- Ellie Thurman, former BCoT apprentice and apprentice at Sandford Springs

Teaching Assistant/Support Staff (Primary)- Ludy Horrobin, from Maple Ridge Primary School

Leadership Award, (Nursery)- Mandy Lawday, from Starlings Pre-school

Congratulations to all the winners, and for interviews with the award winners and photos from the event, the Gazette will be having a full spread in next week's newspaper on July 29.