TEAMS from a pair of Basingstoke hospitals have been put forward for awards.

Maria Miller, MP for Basingstoke, has nominated teams from Basingstoke and North Hampshire Hospital and Parklands Hospital for the NHS Parliamentary Awards 2019.

The MP has chosen the cardiac rehabilitation team at Basingstoke hospital, led by Deborah Addison, for the Excellence in Healthcare Award and Elmwood Ward, at Parklands Hospital, led by Dr Vellingiri Raja Badrakalimuthu, for the Excellence in Mental Health Care Award.

Last year marked the 70th birthday of the NHS and the NHS 70 Parliamentary Awards were set up to recognise the contributions made by individuals and teams who work in and alongside the NHS.

Following this, it was decided that the awards should become an annual event.

The MP said: “I am very proud of our local NHS and care services and am pleased to take part in the NHS Parliamentary Awards as a way of recognising and thanking the people who work in these services. I am delighted to be nominating the cardiac rehab team and the Elmwood Ward at Parklands Hospital.

“They make an outstanding contribution to ensuring the highest quality care for Basingstoke residents, and I wish them the best of luck.”

Nominees put forward by MPs across England will initially be judged by senior local and regional NHS experts to find regional champions in each category, to be announced on June 25.

These regional champions will then be judged by a high level panel, with the overall winners announced at an awards ceremony in Parliament on July 10.