SPORTS stars and doctors are among the Hampshire figures who have been recognised in the Queen's Birthday Honours list.

Among the names are health staff, businessmen and community leaders.

One of those who has been recognised with a CBE on this year’s list is Mark Milford Power Carne, the chief executive of Network Rail.

The Basingstoke man has received the honour for his services to the rail industry.

Mr Carne, a former Shell executive, was appointed as Network Rail’s chief executive in 2014.

Responding to Mr Carne’s inclusion in the honours list, Network Rail chairman Sir Peter Hendy said: “Clearly the timing of this award is difficult given current industry issues and their effects on passengers, but we should take a step back and look at Mark’s whole career, and particularly his record over the past four and a half years and recognise, as this award does, his tremendous contribution to our railway.

“Mark has successfully transitioned Network Rail into public ownership, delivering the largest investment programme in modern times, successfully devolving the organisation to be responsive to customers, has made a 21st century digital railway a reality, and his personal commitment to safety has made our railway the safest in Europe.

“His drive and passion have been inspirational as has his commitment to workforce diversity, dignity and equality.

“It’s right he is honoured just before he retires from one of the biggest and most challenging jobs in UK industry and alongside everyone at Network Rail, I congratulate him.”

Also recognised on the list was Overton resident Alexander John Marshall, for services to policing.

A number of other county figures have also been recognised in the Queen’s Birthday Honours list.

Hampshire County Council’s director of children’s services Steve Crocker has been awarded an OBE in the Queen’s honours list.

He has been recognised for the services to children’s social care in Hampshire and the Isle of Wight.

He said: “This was wholly unexpected and an amazing surprise and privilege.

“One thing I would like to make clear is that I very much see this honour as recognition of all the fantastic work that my colleagues in Hampshire and on the Isle of Wight do every day.”

Mr Crocker’s responsibilities for Hampshire County Council include education and the safeguarding of vulnerable children in the county and on the Isle of Wight.

Honours list in full:


• Professor Bashir Mohammed Ali Al-Hashimi. Professor of Computer Engineering University of Southampton. For services to Computer Engineering and to Industry. (Southampton)

• Mark Milford Power Carne. Chief executive Network Rail. For services to the Rail Industry. (Basingstoke)

• Professor Paul Stephen Little. Professor Primary Care, University of Southampton. For services to General Practice Research. (Romsey)

• Alexander John Marshall, QPM. Formerly chief executive, College of Policing. For services to Policing. (Overton)


• Steven James Crocker. Director of Children's Services Hampshire County Council. For services to Children's Social Care in Hampshire and the Isle of Wight. (Oxfordshire)

• David Harry Done. Chief executive Officer Richmond Housing Partnership. For services to Housing Provision. (Grayshott, Hampshire)

• Stephen Thomas Hatherall. Team Leader New Employment Model Implementation Programme. For services to Armed Forces Personnel. (Andover)

• Professor Keith Palmer. Chair Industrial Injuries Advisory Council. For services to Occupational Health and Medicine. (Southampton)

• Dr Joan Freeman Webber. Principal Pathologist Forest Research (Centre for Ecosystems, Society and Biosecurity). For services to Tree Health. (Alton)

• Ms Elizabeth Anne Yarnold, MBE. Athlete. For services to Winter Olympic Sport. (Hampshire)


• Ian Reginald Carr. Mayor and lately Leader Test Valley Borough Council. For services to Local Government and to the community in Test Valley, Hampshire. (Andover)

• Mrs Sarah Charters. Consultant Nurse, University Hospital Southampton NHS Foundation Trust. For services to Vulnerable Adults. (Hampshire)

• Dr James Shackley Dearden. Founder Ruskin Association. For services to Culture. (Bembridge, Isle of Wight)

• Dr Simon Leslie Edwards. Senior Lecturer in Youth Studies University of Portsmouth. For services to Youth Work and the Education of Young People. (West Sussex)

• Ms Sarah Fiona Haughey. Formerly Executive director Nursing and Quality, Dorset Healthcare University NHS Foundation Trust. For services to Nursing. (Ringwood)

• Kenneth George Western Hicks. For services to the community in the Isle of Wight. (Isle of Wight)

• Dr Rosemary Sylvia Helen Irwin. Chair, Gilbert White Museum and Oates Galleries. For services to Education and to the community in Selborne, Hampshire. (Selborne)

• Mrs Carol Ann Jackson. Chair of Governors, Fordingbridge Infant School, Hampshire. For services to Education. (Fordingbridge)

• Paul Travis Murray. For services to charity and to the community in Winchester. (Winchester)

• Dr David Adrian Sanders, TD. For services to charity and to the community in Hampshire and Sussex. (Hampshire)

• Dr Nigel Frank Watson. General Practitioner, The Arnewood Practice, Hampshire. For services to General Practice. (New Milton)



• Dr Frank MacDonald Akerman. Trustee and lately Honorary secretary Romsey and District Society Buildings Preservation Trust. For services to Conservation in Romsey, Hampshire. (Romsey)

• David Kenneth Compton. Volunteer Warden Old Winchester Hill National Nature Reserve, Hampshire. For services to Nature Conservation. (Petersfield)

• Soorendra Lingiah. Chair Minority Ethnic Group for All, Kingston Hospital NHS Foundation Trust. For services to BAME Patients. (Fleet)