THE winners of this year's Place to be Proud of awards were announced last night.

Volunteers, organisations and other members of the public were celebrated at the ceremony last night, where the winners were awarded with their trophies.

The awards, which are sponsored by a range of local businesses and organisations, including The Gazette, were given in ten different categories, by Basingstoke legend and previous Place to be Proud of winner David Holby-Wolinski, best known as Dave the Rower.

The night was kicked off by a performance from Basingstoke dance group DancePhaze, followed by a dramatic performance from In Yer Face Productions.

There were 10 award categories which people and organisations were nominated for.

Here is a list of the categories and the winners:

Arts and Entertainment Award- sponsored by Basingstoke Leisure Park: Hampshire Oktoberfest

Young Achiever- sponsored by Queen Mary’s College and Breeze: Rosie Sestito

Health and Care Award- sponsored by BMI The Hampshire Clinic: Memory Box Project

Business and the Community Award- sponsored by Basingstoke Together: Champion Group

Volunteer of the Year Award- sponsored by Gazette Newspapers: Tasharna Stapleton

Community Project Award- sponsored by Face TV: Helping Hands for the Blind

Unsung Hero Award- sponsored by Festival Place: Jackie Keep

Inspirational Teacher Award- sponsored by Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council: Lynsey Spillane

Most Nominated Award- sponsored by Destination Basingstoke: Carnegie Lewis

Lifetime Achievement Award- sponsored by Destination Basingstoke: Graham Kent

For full coverage, interviews and photos from the event, see next week’s edition, which comes out on June 14.