THREE new councillors have been elected to Whitchurch Town Council following a by-election.

John Buckley, Andy Jordan and David George were voted in by Whitchurch residents on December 12.

The positions became vacant following the shock resignation of three councillors in October.

As reported in The Gazette, Jackie Day, Linda Thomas and Paul McGarvey all stood down, citing a lack of support as part of their reason for quitting.

The following month, Allan Vaughan also confirmed he was stepping down, because he did not agree on “some matters of policy.”

The Gazette asked council chairman John Clark if he had a message for voters concerned about the resignations ahead of the election, but he did not respond.

Another by-election will be held to fill the vacancy after Mr Vaughan resigned, although the details of this election date have not yet been confirmed.