Thruxton v Winterbourne II.

Thruxton were once again thwarted when their match was abandoned after a heavy rain shower.

Winterbourne batted and made slow progress due to some tight bowling by Adam Mills who made the breakthrough in the ninth over bowling Dickenson with the score on 26.

There then ensued a 67 run partnership which was broken by a superb caught and bowled by Sean Yates.

Paul Harvey then got in on the act with two wickets in two balls leaving Winterbourne on 111-4. They added another 64 for the loss of four more wickets as Adam Mills, Harvey, Yates and Knight each took two.

Opener Arnold was eighth to fall for 46 out of 175.

Thruxton scored 38 off the first ten overs but by the 16th over they had pushed the score to 75 before Ben Simpson was out for a well crafted 48.

The threatened rain was starting to fall at 84-1 in the 17th over before common sense prevailed and the players came off.

The rain had eased after 30 minutes but Winterbourne felt their bowlers would be unable to use the run ups which was not surprising as Thruxton were ahead on run rate.

Andy McGovern (21) and Steve Pickett (6) were the not out batsmen.