Hansons dominate table tennis's Advertiser Cup

First published in Sport by

The Andover Table Tennis League restarted after the Christmas break with three quarter-final matches in the Advertiser Cup.

Unfortunately the only remaining Division 2 team, Hanson F, went down 9-0 to last year’s Weighill Trophy winners Hanson C, for whom Gerry Vaughan, Jamie Smith and Nick George won all their sets.

The closest match was between Wallop Wanderers and Hanson D which the D team won thanks to an excellent start when winning the first two sets, each in three games.

Alex Powell defeated Dom Raymond in the first set 14-21, 21-12,19-21, then Ben Addington just held on 7-21, 21-18, 20-21 to beat Paul Raymond. Mike Cartridge was the star player for Hanson D winning all his three sets in two games.

Rob Macey (Wanderers) won two and with Dom and Paul winning one each, it was still not enough to prevent Hanson D taking the match 4-5.

Hanson Lions just lost to Hanson A 4-5 and again the first two sets were critical with Josh White (Hanson A) defeating Zac Hine 21-16, 17-21, 19-21 in the first and Dan Geary (Hanson A) overcame Rob Williamson 20-21, 21-16, 15-21 in the second.

Peter Henderson won two for Hanson A and Dan managed one more to secure the match, before Rob started a comeback with two wins.

One each for Matt Carter and Zac at the end of the match put the score in a better light.

After these matches the draw took place for the semi-finals of the Advertiser Cup and resulted in the following fixtures: Hanson C v Hanson D and Figheldean or Test Valley A v Hanson A.

The draw for the quarter- finals of the Weighill Trophy pitched Hanson E v Hanson B, Wallop Wanderers v Pumas, Enham v 3D’s and Figheldean or Test Valley A have a bye.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree