Lancashire have been crowned Second XI champions for the first time since 1997, after a winning draw against Hampshire in the final on the Isle of Wight.

They seized control of a rain-affected game on the third day on Thursday, overtaking Hampshire’s first innings total of 248 thanks mainly to a counter-attacking 72 from off-spinning all-rounder Arron Lilley.

Hampshire had sniffed a chance of their first Championship since 2001 when they reduced Lancashire to 200 for seven, with two wickets each for Brad Wheal and Chris Wood, who was captain in the absence of the injured Will Smith.

But Lilley linked up with young bowlers Matty McKiernan and Liam Hurt in crucial partnerships, and Lancashire ended up posting a total of 352 for a commanding lead – then reducing Hampshire to 66 for six in their second innings, with Josh Bohannon taking three for eight.

No play was possible on the last day and in a draw the match is decided by first innings totals, so the trophy was presented to Lancashire’s captain Rob Jones.

England Lions seamer Saqib Mahmood had led the way in the first innings with four for 76, with two wickets each for Bohannon and Toby Lester, to leave Wood unbeaten on a valiant 76.

Lancashire had finished top of the North Division, with Hampshire winning the South Division to set up the final at the Newclose ground across the Solent.

Lancashire have excelled in one-day cricket at second team level in recent years, winning the Trophy three times in five seasons between 2012 and 2016.

But their last Championship came 20 years ago – although they did share the title in 2013 when the Final against Middlesex at Radlett was a complete washout.

Yorkshire won this year’s Trophy, beating Middlesex in the final at Headingley in June.

Sussex complete the 2017 roll of honour after winning the T20 competition at Arundel in August, when Hampshire were again the beaten finalists.