THE race for the Basingstoke and District Tennis Winter League Division One men’s crown went right down to the wire as Andover A retained their title with a 6-2 win over previous leaders RSF A.

RSF A slipped down to third in the table after Kingsclere A beat Aldermaston A 8-0 to take second spot, thanks to maximums from Daniel Cole/ Steve Mills and Chris Pearce/David Giles.

Old Basing A had already secured the Division Two title, with RSF B runners up.

The final match in the division saw Preston Candover beat Beechdown A 5-3, with Steve Grove and Iain Miller winning all their sets.

In Division Three, Andover B took the honours with Waverley A second after Andover won their final match 8-0 against Odiham A.

Oakley B secured their first win of the season with a 7-1 score against Beechdown B thanks to a maximum from Chris Wong and Paul Rattue.

Three teams finished on the same number of points in Division Four, with Mortimer winning the division on sets won.

Odiham B finished second after slipping to a 6-2 defeat in their final match, as Dave Burrell and Andy Wallace were unbeaten for BDH, and Oakley C took third place.

Hampshire Court had already won the Division Five title in their first season in the league.

They had an unbeaten record until their final match, when they went down 5-3 at Sherborne. Andover C finished second to them.

Newbury won their final match 7-1 against Aldermaston B as David Bilton/Leo Perrotta got the maximum.

The Worthy Park team of Giles Greenfield/Rick Pomeroy and Nick Sellick/Simon Hanley secured their first win in their final match as they beat Aldermaston B 8-0.

All the ladies titles had already been decided, with Beechdown A taking the Division One title, while Odiham were Division Two winners and Andover took the Division Three crown.

The Mixed League Division One title had already been secured by Old Basing A.

The only issue in Division Two was who would be second to Oakley A.

This turned out to be Totally Tennis A after they won their final match 6-2 against Preston Candover A.

Despite Mortimer A winning their last match 8-0 at Hook B in Division Three, it was not enough to take the title away from RSF B, and they had to settle for second spot.

Mortimer’s winning team in their final match was made up of Andrew Richardson/Jo Jones and David Thomas/Helen Townsend.

Beechdown D maintained their 100 per cent record in Division Four after a 7-1 win in their last match, with Phil Banfield and Aly Coughlan being unbeaten.

Aldermaston B were second after they beat previous holders Oakley C 8-0 thanks to their team of Carol Huddlestone/John McLarty and Antonia Durrant/Colin Bennett.

Oakley C drew with Mortimer B and Odiham C secured a first win with a 5-3 success at Sherborne.