THE winners of the Basingstoke and Deane Sports Awards will be revealed during a glittering ceremony at Basingstoke’s Apollo Hotel tomorrow night.

A total of 22 awards will be handed out during the evening, including the Gazette Sports Personality of the Year Award.

Twelve local sports stars are in the running for the prestigious prize, including Hook golfing ace Justin Rose, Olympic hockey star Alex Danson, Basingstoke Bison stalwart Kurt Reynolds and last year’s winner, powerlifter Sam Goodall.

The awards are organised by Basingstoke and Deane Voluntary Local Sports Council, which supports local clubs and leagues with information, training, grant aid and much more.

Among the other awards that will be presented on the night are the senior men and ladies awards. The contenders for the men’s prize include international decathlete Ben Hazell, Olympic sprinter Robert Tobin and fencer Ben Peggs. Multiple world powerlifting champion Jean Maton and England hockey international Sarah Mainprise are on the ladies’ shortlist.

Successful athletics coach Bill Jewers, Basingstoke and North Hants Cricket Club stalwart John Bennett and long-serving football referee Jim Stokes are among the nominees for the Service to Sport Award.

Up and coming sports people will also get their moment of glory. Tennis star Esther Adeshina, champion athlete Kierra Barker and international show jumper Jordan Marshall are all in contention for the Junior Ladies Award, while skier Laurie Taylor, sprinter Myles Richardson and British karate international James Feighery-Murphy are on the Junior Men shortlist.

Volunteer and professional coaches will also be honoured, with junior athletics coach Andy Sleap, Basingstoke RFC director of rugby James Croker and gymnastics instructor Janet Allabush among those nominated.

Other awards will go to junior and senior disabled sports people, junior and senior volunteers and officials, veteran men and ladies, and the person considered to have accomplished the greatest sporting achievement of the year.

Sporting primary and secondary schools will also be honoured, as will the top junior and senior teams from across the borough.

Three nominees for the Basingstoke and Deane awards have also been shortlisted for the Hampshire and Isle of Wight Sports Awards 2013, which will be presented in March.

Powerlifer Goodall is in contention for the Senior Sportsman Award, while marathon swimmer Zoe Sadler is in line for the Outstanding Personal Achievement Award. In addition, the Basingstoke Junior Girls Teamgym squad have been shortlisted for the Junior Team Award.

Follow @BasGazette on Twitter for live updates from the awards tomorrow night, and see next Thursday’s Gazette for a four-page special featuring reports and pictures.