THE Basingstoke and District Badminton League Restricted Tournament again produced some great finals at Costello Technology College.

Five pairs contested the ladies section, so each pair played the others for two games to 21 points, aiming to gain a maximum of 168 points.

Anu Davies/Alison Hodgetts finished third with 147 points. They lost points to the eventual finalists Gill Trimmer/Sarah Fenton and Deborah Vincent/Helen Wilcox.

Alison Rendall/Melissa Wolfe (135) and Cathryn Perkins/Sandra Smith (123) were fourth and fifth in the group. Trimmer/Fenton won the section with 166 points, with Vincent/Wilcox second on 158.

The final was a single game to 21 and saw a reversal in fortune, with Vincent/Wilcox emerging the winners to take the trophy 21-11.

In the men’s event, Ben Ansell/Simon Williamson lost just five points to win the section with 142 points. Close behind was Greg Sudell/David Wolfe, whose only loss was to Ansell/ Williamson, with 139 points.

Just three points behind them were Chris Bowry/Chris Egan with 136 points.

The rest of the group was made up of Colin Dangerfield/Josh Bliss (128), Matt Benians/George Zhao (126), Vince Yong/Tim Cooper (125), Dale Turpin/Ramsay Domlogue (124) and Mike Augustine/Stewart Hayes (108) 108 points.

In the final the Ansell/Williamson pair proved dominant, winning 21-18 to take the trophy.

The mixed competition comprised two sections, each with six pairs. In section A Gill Trimmer/Horace Mitchell dropped just two points as they won the section with 103 points.

Jan MacDonald/Adam Bridgen lost eight points to finish second with 97 points.

Anu Davies/Chris Egan and Lisa Moran/Pete Leeds both gained 92 points, with Moran/Leeds being given third place due to fewer points against.

Completing section A were Melissa Wolfe/David Wolfe (78) and Debbie Hardcastle/Hanif Khan (78).

Section B was won by Alison Hodgetts/George Zhao who lost just three points to finish with 103 points. Alison Rendall/Greg Sudell and Cathryn Perkins/Mark Bayliss both gained 99 points. When points against were counted, Rendall/Sudell had fewer and so took second spot.

The rest of section B was made up of Helen Wilcox/Colin Dangerfield (95), Juliet MacAskill/Ben Ansell (89) and Fiona Cecil/Andy Cecil (79.

The first semi-final between Trimmer/Mitchell and Rendall/Sudell was a very close game, finishing 21-20 in favour of the latter. MacDonald/Bridgen beat Hodgetts/Zhao 21-16 in the other semi-final.

The final was another very closely contested game. Rendall/Sudell led for most of the time but MacDonald/ Bridgen took the trophy, winning 21-20.