A TOTAL of 22 seats are up for grabs in this month’s borough council elections.

Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council uses the election by thirds system which means 20 of the 60 councillors on the borough council are up for election each year, followed by a year with no election.

However, after the resignation of Labour’s David Eyre, who was a councillor for Brighton Hill South, and Graham Round, Conservative councillor for Baughurst and Tadley North, two further seats are up for election in addition to the 20 seats that are normally contested.

The borough council is currently run by a Conservative administration, which is led by Councillor Clive Sanders.

The Conservatives have 29 seats, the Labour group has 13 seats, and the Liberal Democrats group have 11 seats. In addition to the three main parties, there are four Independent councillors, one member for the UKIP party, and there are now two vacant seats following the resignations of Cllr Eyre and Cllr Round.

A full list of candidates standing in the Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council local elections, which will take place on May 22, can be viewed here.