Deadline looming for A Place to be Proud of Awards nominations

2013 award winners Lindy Richardson, left, and Janis Taylor, both from the Pink Place, with Dave Holby-Wolinski.

2013 award winners Lindy Richardson, left, and Janis Taylor, both from the Pink Place, with Dave Holby-Wolinski. Buy this photo

First published in News Basingstoke Gazette: Photograph of the Author by , Chief Reporter

THE deadline is looming for nominations to be made for an awards event which recognises the unsung heroes of Basingstoke.

Destination Basingstoke is organising the 11th A Place to be Proud of Awards, which celebrate individuals and organisations that have made a special contribution to the community.

Nominations – which need to be submitted by the March 28 deadline – can be made in a range of categories, that have been sponsored by local businesses.

They include: Arts and Entertainment, Young Achiever, Health and Care, Basingstoke Ambassador.

The winner of the Unsung Hero award will be chosen from a shortlist of three by a public online vote.

Two new categories have been introduced for 2014 – Sports Hero and Community Project.

James Starbuck, chief executive of Basingstoke and District Sports Trust, which is sponsoring the Sports Hero award, said: “We are looking forward to seeing nominations for individuals or teams that have shown real dedication to their sport and have demonstrated great sporting achievement or other contribution within their field, making them a true inspiration to all of us.”

Mark Perry, chief executive of Sentinel Housing Association, which is sponsoring the Community Project award, said: “These projects are often run with the help of volunteers and they don’t look for accolades.

“However, this is our opportunity to thank them for their commitment to bringing people closer together and cultivating great community spirit.”

Nominations can be made online at or by collecting a form from Festival Place information desk, Basingstoke Discovery Centre, or the Parklands reception at the Civic Offices.

Finalists will be invited to the awards ceremony at The Haymarket theatre on June 4.


Comments are closed on this article.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree